Mute – the new single from Us

Mute, the new single from Us, transforms the Stakka Bo (aka Johan Renck) 90s indie hit into an electronic anthem.

Us are the Scottish-Swedish duo of ex-Geneva singer Andrew Montgomery and Lowe frontman Leo Josefsson, whose dark and beautiful electronic pop provides an epic sound world to lose yourself in.

With a unique voice that’s equal parts choirboy and soul boy, Montgomery made waves in the Britpop era with Geneva, scoring four emotive Top 40 singles and two critically-feted albums (‘Further’ and ‘Weather Underground’) on Nude Records between 1996 and 2000, touring with label mates Suede along the way. He released his debut solo album ’Ruled by Dreams’ in 2014, produced by Sean McGhee (Robyn, Alison Moyet, Imogen Heap). The album attracted rave reviews in Q (4 stars) and Uncut (7/10).

Josefsson is a luminary of the Stockholm synth scene with the bands Lowe and Statemachine, whose work has been recognised with several Scandinavian Alternative Music Awards, including Best Newcomer, Best Live Act, Best Song and Best Album.

Us play widescreen, beautiful, electronic music that is like Depeche Mode and The Cocteau Twins collaborating on a dystopian sci-fi soundtrack, praying to a higher power in a church of the holy machines. Mute takes electronic pop into beautiful new sacred territory.

Mute is released on 29 December 2017.